FineDayJane

Stories from my life and other writing…

#54 Knitting

Posted by Jane Lancaster on November 20, 2011

my first ever knitting project… i’m delighted.  ah but spot the mistake..

 

 

 

 

6 Responses to “#54 Knitting”

  1. vibeke said

    congratulations on your first knitting project, what a beautiful result!
    i didn’t know your sister but after reading the posts in the other blog you have i kind of feel that i have gotten to know her a little bit through what you share… i am sure that she would have been incredibly proud of your knitting result.
    are going for a second project soon?: )

    knitting for me is a treasured thing.
    the last years i have had the experience of beeing unable to do
    almost nothing at all (even to walk for a period) because of beeing sick
    and when i found out that knitting was a thing i was able to do i cried of joy and gratitude..
    a small thing that for me makes a big difference where i am in my life now..

    “For now she need not think about anybody.
    She could be herself. And that was what now ,she often felt the need of-to think; well not even to think.
    To be silent; to be alone. All the being and the doing, expansive, glittering, vocal, evaporated…
    Although she continued to KNIT, and sat upright, it was thus that she felt herself; and this self having shed its attachments was free for the strangest adventures.”
    -from “To the Lighthouse” Virginia Woolf

    i LOVE the photo : )

    bless,
    v

  2. Vibeke, thanks. i can hardly believe I made them. I’m onto a scarf now. It was a treasured thing for Pam too.

    I’m so sorry to hear that you’ve been sick. Do you mind me asking what? And how great that knitting consoled you.

    I love that novel. I read it when I spent a lonely six months in Liverpool. At one point I was actually sitting in some gorgeous sand dunes reading it. The perfect setting. Thanks for the quote! And the connection 🙂

    love Jane xx.

  3. I didn’t know you had another blog!
    hi.
    xo

  4. Hi Rebecca! yes..it doesn’t get much attention though.. maybe it will in time.. xoxoxo

  5. hena tayeb said

    Congratulations on your first attempt. That is amazing. Who cares about that one little waist.
    I would really learn to knit one day. When I have more time.

Leave a Reply

 
