FineDayJane

Stories from my life and other writing…

#34 may day

Posted by Jane Lancaster on May 1, 2011

madrigal group performance today in peasant costume with silly peasanty hats.. songs we did

Welcome Summer Irish tune, words Chaucer 1400

Flower Carol Tempus ad est Floridum, Piae Cantiones, 1582

Sumer is i-cumin in Middle English, Wessex Dialect, 1260

Schedryk Ukranian folk song, arr 20th century

they sang the hymn He Lives and I couldn’t sing it I had a huge lump in my throat thinking of Pam all the way through.   I’m not a christian I just like singing in the madrigal group and we got a gig in this church.  But at times I felt like I wish I could be one of these christians and have a big kind Vicar console me and convince me that Pam still lives somewhere… just someone to talk to and rely on who is hugely spiritual… As they sang He Lives I couldn’t help but substitute the word Pam for Jesus and thus the lumpy throat.  I felt Pam keenly all through the service remembering that she would always always cry her eyes out if ever she was in church, no control whatsoever I thought as I stared up at the ceiling and tried to keep my tears in..

He Lives

Lyrics ~ Alfred H. Ackley, 1887 – 1960

Music ~ Alfred H. Ackley, 1887 – 1960 

Stanza 1:

I serve a risen Saviour; He’s in the world today.

I know that He is living, whatever men may say.

I see His hand of mercy, I hear His voice of cheer,

And just the time I need Him He’s always near.

Chorus:

He lives! He lives! Christ Jesus lives today!

He walks with me and talks with me along life’s narrow way.

He lives! He lives! Salvation to impart!

You ask me how I know He lives? He lives within my heart.

Stanza 2:

In all the world around me I see His loving care,

And though my heart grows weary I never will despair.

I know that He is leading, thro’ all the stormy blast;

The day of His appearing will come at last.

Chorus:

Stanza 3:

Rejoice, rejoice, O Christian! Lift up your voice and sing

Eternal hallelujahs to Jesus Christ, the King!

The Hope of all who seek Him, the Help of all who find,

None other is so loving, so good and kind.

Leave a Reply

 
